• Text size
  • Send this article to a friend
  • Print this article

Riders selected for the World Class programme

THE GB dressage riders selected for the 2013-2015 Word Class development programme have been announced by the British Equestrian Federation (BEF).

"After such a fantastic 2012 which saw our equestrian athletes perform magnificently in London at the Olympic and Paralympic Games, it is great to start 2013 with the announcement of the development programme which identifies our most up and coming athletes," said equestrian World Class Performance Director, Will Connell.

The aim of the Programme is to be a sustainable system that can deliver more medals on the international stage now and in the future, and it is structured in such a way to encourage progression from World Class Start through to World Class Potential and then onto the Performance Programme.

Established in 2002, the programme underpins the World Class Performance Programme, and is divided into two parts; World Class Start and World Class Potential. Selection for the squads take place every two years, and during this time performance is continually assessed with formal reviews for riders every six months.

The Development Programme, which is funded by UK Sport, works with talented riders to maximise their potential and deliver success on the international stage. All riders on the programme have access to the same World Class benefits including; mentoring, coaching, human and equine sports science & medicine (which includes fitness and nutrition programmes, equine management advice and access to world class farriery).

The riders selected for the Development Squads are:


Hannah Biggs, Dorset

Nikki Crisp, Buckinghamshire

Maria Eilberg, Worcestershire

Alex Hardwick, Hertfordshire

Bobby Hayler, Essex

Gabrielle Lucas, Essex

Olivia Oakeley, Hampshire

Annie Perry, County Durham

Zoe Sleigh, Worcestershire

Amy Stovold, West Sussex

Samantha Thurman-Baker, Oxfordshire

Ryan Todd, West Yorkshire

Para-equestrian dressage

Natasha Adkinson, South Yorkshire

Katherine Cooksley, Berkshire

Ashleigh Jones, West Midlands

Ruth MacCarthy, West Midlands

Annastasia Neale, Staffordshire

Erin Orford, Buckinghamshire

Natalie Povey, North Wales

Alex Sutton, Wiltshire

Nicky Thompson, Surrey

Georgia Wilson, Conwy